The Department of Business Studies and Economics was founded in 1983 from the grouping of the ITR (Technical Accounting Institute). In 1995 the Department incorporated the Istituto di Merceologia (Commodities Institute) and over the years the prestige and cultural importance of its activities grew, becoming the Department of Management in 2006.

Over the years the position of Head of Department has been held by Professors:

  • Osvaldo Paganelli,(1983-1985)
  • Andrea Zanoni (1985-1991)
  • Gianni Lorenzoni (1991-1994)
  • Sandro Sandri (1994-2000)
  • Cristina Boari (2000-2006)
  • Maurizio Sobrero (2006-2012)
  • Carlo Boschetti (2012-2017)
  • Maurizio Sobrero (2017-2021)

The current Head of Department is Professor Angelo Paletta (since January 2021).

The current Heads of the Department’s branches are  Professor Stefano Mengoli for Bologna branch, Professor Elisa Montaguti for  Forlì branch, and Professor Marco Maria Mattei for Rimini branch.